AMN 4: Conference on Advanced Materials and Nanotechnology




  View map

The MacDiarmid Institute for Advanced Materials and Nanotechnology conference, AMN-4, will be held in Dunedin, 8-12 February 2009.

Visit the AMN-4 website!

Nobel Prize winners in Physics and Chemistry, John Hall and Harry Kroto, have confirmed they will be attending AMN-4 and giving plenary talks.

Professor John Hall won the Nobel Prize in Physics in 2005 for pioneering work in laser-based precision spectroscopy, including the well known optical frequency comb. This work has many applications including in frequency metrology, high-energy physics, and tests of fundamental theories.

Professor Sir Harry Kroto won the Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 1996. His research interests span a number of related areas including the spectroscopy of unstable species and reaction intermediates, spectroscopy in astrophysics, cluster science (carbon and metal clusters, microparticles, nanofibres) and fullerene chemistry, nanoscience and nanotechnology.

They are both wonderful ambassadors for science. We are fortunate to have them on-board.